background preloader

Librarian ConnectionEarlyWord: The Publisher

Librarian ConnectionEarlyWord: The Publisher
Related:  reader advisory

NoveList | EBSCOhost Latest News & Events Latest Articles Technology & Services Discovery & Services Publisher Services ppf Subscription Fulfillment Content Research Databases Magazines, Books & Journals Readers' Advisory NoveList Medical Resources Skills Development Interact Blogs Book release dates Book reviews: Find the best new books {*style:<ul>*} {*style:<li>*} {*style:<br>*}{*style:<b>*}Harry's Trees{*style:</b>*}{*style:<br>*} by Jon Cohen{*style:<br>*}What a dazzlingly yet wonderful cast of characters we meet in Harry’s Trees by Jon Cohen. The one thing united them is grief and loss. A widow loses her husband to a ...{*style:<br>*} {*style:<a href=' more{*style:</a>*} {*style:</li>*} {*style:<li>*} {*style:<br>*}{*style:<b>*}Don't Look Back: An Inspector Sejer Mystery{*style:</b>*}{*style:<br>*} by Karin Fossum{*style:<br>*}A friend recommended this mystery to me and said she had just discovered Norwegian author Karin Fossum.

Sew Up a Storm : Sew Up a Storm: All the Way to the Bank! How to Succeed in a Sewing-Related Business Maslowski What a boring cover for a book about starting a craft-related business. Sewing is a visual thing – you need more than a clever title and an exclamation point to make people want to read this kind of book. Maybe they thought they should be more serious since it is a business book? My second complaint, obviously, is the book’s age. Holly Other Sewing Related Posts: Sew Bad It’s Sew Fun! Like a Living Doll (Don’t Miss the inside pictures!) Groovy Pillows

Play ‘Stunningly brilliant... Full of more twists and turns than the best ever rollercoaster, with an epic ending’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ When six-year-old Marcus is taken from outside his house on Halloween it shakes his quiet neighbourhood to the core. =Everyone was ready for a night of trick-or-treating. As Detective Imogen Grey arrives to question Marcus’s parents, they tell her there has been a mistake. But if that’s true, where is Marcus? Imogen becomes locked in a race against time to find the missing child and uncover the truth. Detective Imogen Grey returns in a completely addictive page-turner, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, TM Logan and Shari Lapena. Readers are gripped by Trick or Treat: ‘Started and finished in the same day!... ‘Brilliant!... ‘A fabulous rollercoaster... ‘I LOVED this book!... ‘ALL HAIL THE QUEEN OF CRIME!!... ‘So ridiculously good... ‘I am completely stunned right now... ‘Brilliant... ‘Fantastic... ‘Wow!...

VOYA Speculations on the Future of the Book at MIT Conference At the Unbound: Speculations on the Future of the Book conference held on May 3-4 at MIT there was no handwringing by publishers or booksellers, in this case mostly rare booksellers, over print book sales or discussion of the DoJ lawsuit. Instead the symposium, organized by two postdoctoral fellows in Writing and Humanistic Studies at MIT, Amaranth Borsuk and Gretchen E. Henderson, lingered most on what forms the book might take. The answer varied from Christian Bök’s The Xenotext, an attempt to genetically engineer a bacterium to store a poem in its genome, to Nick Montfort’s computational poem, 10 PRINT CHR$(205.5+RND(1)); : GOTO 10, a one-line Commodore 64 BASIC program, to Bob Stein’s SocialBook, a post-print publishing platform that allows users to share comments and drawings on books and articles read in Web browsers. Founded in 2010, SocialBook continues to evolve. Other books involve patterns and are more closely related to computer programs or video.

Share Book Recommendations With Your Friends, Join Book Clubs, Answer Trivia The Uncommon Corps Australian folktales - Wayambeh the turtle Oolah, the lizard, was out getting yams on a Mirrieh flat. She had three of her children with her. Suddenly she thought she heard some one moving behind the big Mirrieh bushes. "Well," they said, "her tribe will soon be after her; you must protect yourself; we shall not fight for you. In a short time the Oolahs were seen coming across the plain which faced the camp of the Wayambeh. When the Wayambeh saw the approach of the Oolah, their chief said: "Now, Wayambeh, you had better go out on to the plain and do your own fighting; we shall not help you." Wayambeh chose the two biggest boreens that he had; one he slung on him, covering the front of his body, and one the back; then, seizing his weapons, he strode out to meet his enemies. When he was well out on to the plain, though still some distance from the Oolah, he called out, "Come on." The answer was a shower of spears and boomerangs. The answer was another shower of weapons, which he met in the same way.

Library Journal Reviews — Previews, Reviews, and Collection Development Best Young Adult Novels, Best Teen Fiction, Top 100 Teen Novels It's almost a cliche at this point to say that teen fiction isn't just for teens anymore. Just last year, the Association of American Publishers ranked Children's/Young Adult books as the single fastest-growing publishing category. Which is why we were only a little surprised to see the tremendous response that came in for this summer's Best-Ever Teen Fiction poll. A whopping 75,220 of you voted for your favorite young adult novels, blasting past the total for last year's science fiction and fantasy poll at, dare we say it, warp speed. And now, the final results are in. Selecting a manageable voting roster from among the more than 1,200 nominations that came in from readers wasn't easy, and we were happy to be able to rely on such an experienced panel of judges. Summer, like youth, is fleeting.

Related:  Collection Development