background preloader

Books: Book Reviews, Book News, and Author Interviews

Books: Book Reviews, Book News, and Author Interviews

Book Beast Berlusconi’s So-Called Bunga-Bunga Life By Barbie Latza Nadeau In a new authorized biography, ‘My Way,’ there’s an ‘awestruck’ Putin, the sick joke he and Gaddafi made famous—and the Italian playboy PM who remains as slippery as ever. Keep Reading Books Did CIA Director Order the Hit on JFK? By James A. 1519 Shares The Ladybird Book Covers: Grown-up Ed... By William Boot10.13.15 17 Shares U.K. By Tom Sykes10.13.15 50 Shares We’re Suckers for Hil’s Redemption Story By Gil Troy10.13.15 60 Shares How Hillary Remade Her Image By Gil Troy10.12.15 416 Shares Is ‘Artisanal’ Music the Next New Thing? By Ted Gioia10.11.15 3676 Shares Dolley Madison’s Killer Fish Croquettes By Ailsa von Dobeneck10.11.15 394 Shares My Cancer Is As Strange As My Fiction By Adrian Barnes10.11.15 1012 Shares Lou Reed: Dylan Is a ‘Pretentious Kike’ By Nico Hines10.10.15 16579 Shares When Smoking Was Fun By Luc Sante10.10.15 1295 Shares Meet Little Miss Overshare and Mr Selfie By Tim Teeman10.10.15 708 Shares President? By David Masciotra10.10.15 close

Reading Matters Late last night London time the longlist for Australia's top literary prize, the 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award, was announced. It's quite a strong list, although I'm shocked that it doesn't include Christos Tsiolkas' Barracuda and Alex Miller's Coal Creek, but I do like the fact it features some new authors that I've not heard of before. Still, I think when push comes to shove, it's going to be a big battle between two old favourites: Tim Winton and Richard Flanagan. Only time will tell. In the meantime, I've taken a leaf out of Trevor's book (who did something similar for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize) and listed all the longlisted titles here with a cover image, brief synopis and a round-up of reviews by bloggers. The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt by Tracy Farr (Available in the UK as a Kindle edition) "This is the story of Lena Gaunt: musician, octogenarian, junkie. ANZ Litlovers' review ANZ Litlovers' review Reading Matters' reviewANZ LitLovers' review ANZ Litlovers' review

ForeWord Reviews London Review of Books Book reviews: Find the best new books {*style:<ul>*} {*style:<li>*} {*style:<br>*}{*style:<b>*}Harry's Trees{*style:</b>*}{*style:<br>*} by Jon Cohen{*style:<br>*}What a dazzlingly yet wonderful cast of characters we meet in Harry’s Trees by Jon Cohen. The one thing united them is grief and loss. A widow loses her husband to a ...{*style:<br>*} {*style:<a href=' more{*style:</a>*} {*style:</li>*} {*style:<li>*} {*style:<br>*}{*style:<b>*}Don't Look Back: An Inspector Sejer Mystery{*style:</b>*}{*style:<br>*} by Karin Fossum{*style:<br>*}A friend recommended this mystery to me and said she had just discovered Norwegian author Karin Fossum.

Nancy Pearl Detailed book reviews readergirlz Books - Paper Cuts Blog Photo A rambling 1950 letter from Neal Cassady to Jack Kerouac that helped inspire “On the Road” will be auctioned next month by Christie’s in New York, apparently bringing to an end an 18-month legal battle over its ownership. The 16,000-word typed letter, which carries an estimate of $400,000 to $600,000, had been considered lost before it surfaced in the discarded files of Golden Goose Press, a now-defunct small San Francisco publisher, and listed for sale by a Southern California auction house in 2014. That auction was suspended after the Kerouac estate and Cassady’s children said they were the owners. Jami Cassady, a spokeswoman for the family, told The San Francisco Chronicle this week that the three parties had reached “an amicable settlement.” The missive, known as the Joan Anderson letter, after a woman with whom Cassady described an amorous relationship, had been known only from a fragment, apparently retyped by Kerouac, that was published in 1964.

Library Journal Reviews — Previews, Reviews, and Collection Development What's Next™ Database Our What's Next®: Books in Series database helps you search series fiction. A series is two or more books linked by character(s), settings, or other common traits. e.g. Sue Grafton's "A is for Alibi", "B is for..." etc. or the "Star Wars" series Search for a Book The What's Next®: Books in Series database was developed and is maintained by the Kent District Library. We're looking for stories and feedback related to your experience with our What's Next® database. Kent District Library welcomes other libraries to link to this database.

MGPL Webrary® - Web Sites for Book Lovers Teenreads |

Related: