background preloader

Emmanuelle Duez - Positive Economy Forum - Le Havre 2015 - Français

Emmanuelle Duez - Positive Economy Forum - Le Havre 2015 - Français

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkdvEg1kwnY

Related:  Innovation managérialeInteresting stuffanniemarModèles d'organisationGen YZ

Gary Hamel: Reinventing the Technology of Human Accomplishment Watch Gary Hamel, celebrated management thinker and author and co-founder of the Management Innovation eXchange (MIX), make the case for reinventing management for the 21st century. In this fast-paced, idea-packed, 15-minute video essay, Hamel paints a vivid picture of what it means to build organizations that are fundamentally fit for the future—resilient, inventive, inspiring and accountable. "Modern” management is one of humanity’s most important inventions, Hamel argues. But it was developed more than a century ago to maximize standardization, specialization, hierarchy, control, and shareholder interests. This video is an excerpt from the University of Phoenix Distinguished Guest Video Lecture Series.

Horizontal History Most of us have a pretty terrible understanding of history. Our knowledge is spotty, with large gaps all over the place, and the parts of history we do end up knowing a lot about usually depend on the particular teachers, parents, books, articles, and movies we happen to come across in our lives. Without a foundational, tree-trunk understanding of all parts of history, we often forget the things we do learn, leaving even our favorite parts of history a bit hazy in our heads. Raise your hand if you’d like to go on stage and debate a history buff on the nuances of a historical time period of your choosing. Science Over 30 years ago, Carol Dweck and her colleagues became interested in students' attitudes about failure. They noticed that some students rebounded while other students seemed devastated by even the smallest setbacks. After studying the behavior of thousands of children, Dr. Dweck coined the terms fixed mindset and growth mindset to describe the underlying beliefs people have about learning and intelligence. When students believe they can get smarter, they understand that effort makes them stronger.

161 Aspects of Self Reliance When you are new to self-reliance, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. I wish I could tell you the “lost” feeling changes over time, but it doesn’t. The truth is; while you expand your knowledge of taking care of yourself, your interests in new subjects and skills can spiral out of control. That’s the thing with depending on yourself, it’s hard to just specialize on doing just one thing. Sure you can become a master of growing potatoes, but potatoes won’t keep you warm through the winter or quench your thirst.

Millennials aren’t the problem — you are — Life Learning Millennials aren’t the problem — you are A few weeks ago I was making my rounds of the company, checking in with various teams to see how they’re doing, when one of our younger employees grabbed me for a quick question. That’s common. Creativity, Inc. — Amy Wallace Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration By Ed Catmull with Amy Wallace From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

Introducing Vega-Lite Provide sensible defaults, but allow customization. Vega-Lite’s compiler automatically chooses default properties of a visualization based on a set of carefully designed rules. However, one can specify additional properties to customize the visualization. For example, the stacked bar chart on the left has a custom color palette. Vega-Lite uses a concise syntax, enabling rapid creation of visualizations without unduly restricting subsequent customization. Support programmatic generation, sharing, and reuse. STEM vs. STEAM: Why The "A" Makes a Difference Science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) subjects are the focal point of popular integrated learning systems. However, voices are calling out for the “A” in “arts” to turn STEM into STEAM. What does the debate involve, and what do educators and students think about it? Image via Flickr by Jeff Pioquinto, SJ The National Math + Science Initiative points out some numbers that highlight STEM’s essential role in the United States’ education system. Their data shows that:

Related:  management