background preloader

How to Build a Universe That Doesn't Fall Apart Two Days Later

How to Build a Universe That Doesn't Fall Apart Two Days Later
First, before I begin to bore you with the usual sort of things science fiction writers say in speeches, let me bring you official greetings from Disneyland. I consider myself a spokesperson for Disneyland because I live just a few miles from it — and, as if that were not enough, I once had the honour of being interviewed there by Paris TV. For several weeks after the interview, I was really ill and confined to bed. I think it was the whirling teacups that did it. Elizabeth Antebi, who was the producer of the film, wanted to have me whirling around in one of the giant teacups while discussing the rise of fascism with Norman Spinrad... an old friend of mine who writes excellent science fiction. We also discussed Watergate, but we did that on the deck of Captain Hook’s pirate ship. Science fiction writers, I am sorry to say, really do not know anything. It reminds me of a headline that appeared in a California newspaper just before I flew here. So I ask, in my writing, What is real?

http://downlode.org/Etext/how_to_build.html

Related:  Books

Measuring Battery Voltage with an ADC > Measuring Battery Voltage with an ADC How to measure the voltage on a power source that is greater than the maximum rating of your ADC If you are using a battery powered device, it's often useful to be able to measure the current voltage level on the battery to estimate how much stored energy is left. You may wish to alert the user if the charge level drops below a certain level, for example, or automatically shut the device off beyond a certain lower threshold. On the other end of the scale, if you are charging the battery, you may wish to cut off the charging process once a certain upper limit is reached.

The 101 Most Useful Websites on the Internet Here are the most useful websites on the Internet that will make you smarter, increase productivity and help you learn new skills. These incredibly useful websites solve at least one problem really well. And they all have cool URLs that are easy to memorize thus saving you a trip to Google. Also see: The Best Android Apps Also see: The Best Mac Apps and Utilities The Mythopoet's Manual Welcome to the MythoPoet's Manual . In the last half of the 20 th century, World Design has become a popular pastime. We have J. R.

Television, Media & Speeches : Welcome to Explorations in Science with Dr. Michio Kaku Fans of Michio Kaku and Jon Stewart came together on February 25th, 2014 when Dr. Kaku appeared on Comedy Central‘s The Daily Show with Jon Stewart to kick off the launch of his new book, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND. Released on the day of the broadcast, Kaku’s new book debuted as an instant NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER hitting the #1 spot on March 16th. Did you miss the show? Want to see it again? WATCH NOW! When Audi started a war to BMW.... once upon a time when audi had started a war...and BMW responded; later on, BMW started messing with mercedes; and again...a mercedes can also bring driving pleasure, BMW's next victim was Jaguar, then, turned back to audi...this time audi responded and Subaru too...and Bentley put and end to the game, Subaru parts accessories, BMW parts,used Bentley parts, Mercedes parts, used Mercedes, Audi parts Top Paid Instantly CPM Advertising Network

The Top 10 Best Science Fiction Books Before the comments fill up with “Why didn’t you include this” and various slights against our personal and professional integrity, this is just a list of ten great science fiction novels, not in order, and by no means the top ten ever produced. ‘Ten of the best’, not ‘the ten best’. That being said, please post up your own favourites, as we’re always looking for new things to read. Tantra lovemaking positions, I : Lands of Wisdom When you play with different positions during lovemaking, you invite a whole spectrum of qualities into your union. Each posture will activate a different kind of response. The more expansive you can be with how you express your love, and the more dimensions you can include, the more spicy and fulfilling your relating will be. Instead of being one-dimensional, always moving into the same habits of behaviour, you will become multi-dimensional – able to access new and unexpected facets of your being. This will help you to open to new experiences and qualities in lovemaking.

10 Steps to Creating Realistic Fantasy Animals by Ashley Lange Why do writers write? Because it isn't there. - Thomas Berger Arguably, the two most challenging aspects for fantasy/science fiction writers to conquer are originality and believability.

The Future of Interactive Glass (by @baekdal) #trends I love it when companies create "future visions" videos - like this one from Microsoft, or these from Penguin (ebooks) and Goab (TV). This morning, I came across one from Corning...and it is spectacular! Corning is a glass manufacturer, probably best known for it's Gorilla Glass that Apple uses to make their iPhones and iPads ultra tough. But as you can see in the video, Corning wants to do much more than make Gorilla glass (see video below).

Related:  UniqueScience fiction