background preloader

Learning to program

Learning to program

http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/alan.gauld/

Asynchronous Socket Programming What is 'asynchronous socket programming'? a.k.a. event-driven programming or select()-based multiplexing, it's a solution to a network programming problem: How do I talk to bunch of different network connections at once, all within one process/thread? Let's say you're writing a database server that accepts requests via a tcp connection. If you expect to have many simultaneous requests coming in, you might look at the following options: synchronous: you handle one request at a time, each in turn. pros: simple cons: any one request can hold up all the other requests fork: you start a new process to handle each request. pros: easy cons: does not scale well, hundreds of connections means hundreds of processes. fork() is the Unix programmer's hammer.

Teach Coding in the Classroom: Resources from ISTE '14 I was super excited to attend Hack Education (originally called “EdubloggerCon”), an all-day unconference held the Friday before the formal start of ISTE 2014. This interactive day of learning, now in its eighth year, was touted to me as the event to attend in Atlanta, and it did not disappoint. The informal, small-group conversations were inclusive and welcoming. The "rule of two feet" meant that if you needed to move, you were encouraged. And session topics were diverse -- on the schedule were discussions about maker education, augmented reality, design thinking, game-based learning, coding in the classroom, digital storytelling, and many, many more! In an attempt to heed Dave Guymon’s call to share the ISTE learning (see his blog post on Getting Smart, "Don’t Leave Your Learning Behind: What To Do Now That #ISTE2014 Is Over"), here are some resources discussed by a group of elementary and secondary educators during a morning session on coding in the classroom.

How to Think Like a Computer Scientist Learning with Python by Allen Downey, Jeff Elkner and Chris Meyers. This book is now available for sale at Lulu.com. Hardcopies are no longer available from Green Tea Press. (the eff-bot guide to) The Standard Python Library Overviews (15) Core Modules [core-modules-index]Data Representation [data-representation-index]Data Storage [data-storage-index]File Formats [file-formats-index]Implementation Support Modules [implementation-support-modules-index]Internationalization [internationalization-index]Mail and News Message Processing [mail-and-news-message-processing-index]More Standard Modules [more-standard-modules-index]Multimedia Modules [multimedia-modules-index]Network Protocols [network-protocols-index]Other Modules [other-modules-index]Platform Specific Modules [platform-specific-modules-index]Preface [preface-index]Threads and Processes [threads-and-processes-index]Tools and Utilities [tools-and-utilities-index] Articles (249)

Free Programming, SQL Data Coding, Computer Science. IT Books PHP Reference: Beginner to Intermediate PHP 5 PHP programmers need of a quick reference book. Beginner and intermediate PHP coders with some experience in PHP, includes code using procedural PHP and standard syntax. Book covers areas of mail handling, file manipulation, regular expressions, MySQL sessions, and cookies. Author, Mario Lurig assumes you understand the basics but are researching or needing a clarification on some PHP details. .First Edition PHP 5+Download PDF REF: PHP5 Programming +Online Downloadable PDF Book PHP 5 Power Programming

Think Python: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist How to Think Like a Computer Scientist by Allen B. Downey This is the first edition of Think Python, which uses Python 2. If you are using Python 3, you might want to use the second edition, which is here. Buy this book at Amazon.com 50 Useful Coding Techniques (CSS Layouts, Visual Effects and Forms) - Smashing Magazine Advertisement Although CSS is generally considered a simple and straightforward language, sometimes it requires creativity, skill and a bit of experimentation. The good news is that designers and developers worldwide often face similar problems and choose to share their insights and workarounds with the wider community.

100 Google Search Tricks In today’s schools, most research is completed online, and Google is a great resource for combing the web. But at the same time, it’s not always easy to find exactly what you want, given that there are usually millions of results — with varying degrees of accuracy. These tricks can help you find the best results, while saving time and making your life easier. General These simple tricks will help you get what you want, faster.

Related: