background preloader

Dana Nunnery's Selection Tools Toolkit

Facebook Twitter

Selection Tools

Catalog your books online. Choosing Books — The Horn Book. Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. NEW CSK BLOG: Follow the latest news and information from CSK on the brand new CSK Blog! To learn more, visit 2017 Author Award Winner The 2017 Coretta Scott King Book Awards Author Winner is given to Congressman John Lewis and Andrew Aydin for “March Book: Three,” published by Top Shelf Productions, an imprint of IDW Publishing, a division of Idea and Design Works LLC.

“March: Book Three,” is a first-hand account of the Civil Rights Movement through Lewis’ eyes. Co-author John Lewis is the U.S. 2017 Illustrator Award Winner Dr. Best Multicultural Books for Children (209 books) NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children. Congratulations to the 2017 award winners!

NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children

2017 Winner Some Writer! : The Story of E.B. White written and illustrated by Melissa Sweet(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers) Honor Books: Animals by the Numbers: A Book of Animal Infographics by Steve Jenkins (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers)The First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on Trial written by Susan E. Caldecott Medal Home Page. Leave Me Alone!

Caldecott Medal Home Page

Illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol, and published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership. At the end of her rope, Granny is desperate for time alone to finish knitting sweaters for a house filled with dozens of rambunctious children. Brosgol’s expressive watercolor and cartoon art presents a genre-breaking journey taking Granny from the traditional forest setting to the mountains to the moon and beyond. Freedom in Congo Square, illustrated by R. Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division.

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

Inspired by an 1828 estate appraisement, Ashley Bryan honors the lives of eleven slaves in poetry and collage. Conveying the terror of the patterroller and the hope of voices raised in song, Bryan imagines for each person a life of oppression and a dream for freedom. Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA): "Supporting teen learning and development via guidelines, best practices, and other resources for library staff, afterschool providers, and educators.". The New York Public Library: "Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive source for book reviews from 1965 to the present and covers review published in nearly 500 periodicals and newspapers." HW Wilson: "H.W. Wilson publishes database and reference resources to serve libraries, schools and corporations."

Baker & Taylor. Follett School Solutions. Teacher Librarian: "A leading journal designed specifically for librarians working with K-12 students as well as with their colleagues teaching in the classroom and administrators.". Libraries Unlimited - Home. ACRL Choice. Choice is a publishing unit of ACRL dedicated to providing the academic library community with the tools and services it needs, through a variety of resources including Choice magazine and the Choice Reviews database.

ACRL Choice

Founded in 1964, Choice now reaches more than 18,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers connecting the three principal groups of the academic library market: librarians, patrons, and content providers. Click here for the latest information on all of Choice's products, services, and initiatives. Editorial Board Peggy Seiden, Swarthmore College, Chair Cindi Blyberg, Springshare Zoe Fisher, Pierce College Amanda L. Diane Klare, Wesleyan University Jennifer A. Lutishoor Salisbury, University of Arkansas Clay Williams, Hunter College of the City University of New York Board Liaison: Ann Campion Riley, University of Missouri Ex Officio Jennie Burroughs, ACRL Publications Coordinating Committee Mary Ellen Davis, Executive Director, ACRL VOYA: "...leading library journal dedicated to the needs of young adult librarians, the advocacy of young adults, and the promotion of young adult literature and reading."

The world's largest reviewer of books, multimedia, and technology for children and teens. Booklist Online: "Booklist Online: The best book reviews for public libraries and school libraries, and the best books to read for your book club, brought to you by the ALA."