background preloader


Facebook Twitter

The Four Qualities of Love, by Thich Nhat Hanh. “The teachings on love given by the Buddha are clear, scientific, and applicable… Love, compassion, joy, and equanimity are the very nature of an enlightened person.

The Four Qualities of Love, by Thich Nhat Hanh

They are the four aspects of true love within ourselves and within everyone and everything.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh The following is a description of the Buddha’s teachings on the four qualities of love, from the first chapter of Teachings on Love, written by Thich Nhat Hanh… “Happiness is only possible with true love. True love has the power to heal and transform the situation around us and bring a deep meaning to our lives. Seven Teachings from the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying.

Do you ever wish you had a manual for life?

Seven Teachings from the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

Something you could turn to for the answers on how to live a fulfilled, successful and happy life? Religion and spirituality have long attempted to provide a roadmap for souls seeking a meaningful life. And the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, written by Sogyal Rinpoche in 1992, may just be one of the most important guides to living a better life. The book presents the teachings of Tibetan Buddhism.

When I first read the book 20 years ago, I was working with the dying and thought it would help me to support them, as well as myself later in life, when death became more of a possibility. Restoring The Sacred Feminine. It is time to recognize that the hunting era has passed.

Restoring The Sacred Feminine

This should be a more feminine time, a time when women make great contributions to society. If we continue to devalue what women have to offer, we will continue neglecting and devaluing those virtues which are considered feminine. And these are precisely the virtues that the world most needs now. – 17th Karmapa Ugyen Thinley Dorje. The Powerful Chinese Meditation of Silent Illumination. Silent illumination is a Buddhist practice that can be traced back not only to Huineng (638–713), the sixth patriarch of Chan, and other Chinese masters but also to the early teachings of the Buddha.

The Powerful Chinese Meditation of Silent Illumination

In the Chan tradition, silent illumination is referred to as mozhao, from the Chinese characters mo (silent) and zhao (illumination). Silent illumination is the simultaneous practice of stillness and clarity, or quiescence and luminosity. The Ancient Yogic Secret to Happiness. Millenia ago, as ancient Vedic tribes roamed across India, paying their respects to Indra, Agni, Ushas and Asvins – the agents of Nature, delivering thunder and lightning, storm and fire, sunrise and sunset – scholars pondered the riddle of life and death and the peculiarity of pleasure and pain.

The Ancient Yogic Secret to Happiness

They realised that happiness could never be permanently guaranteed in the general humdrum of civilized life. People become happy if they can escape a situation, or a set of circumstances, that make them unhappy, but there is no guarantee of never being in an unpleasant situation again. Happiness when reached, is temporary and fleeting. In order to detach from the miseries of everyday existence and reach a state of permanent ‘happiness,’ it may be necessary to rise above the daily drama of life. The scholars noted that the pursuit of knowledge seemed to be the only reliable path to ‘happiness’. Video: Claudio Naranjo on World Spirituality – Interview by Marc Gafni. Claudio Naranjo on World SpiritualityInterview by Marc GafniThe Center for World Spirituality PART ONE: “The Center for World Spirituality Interviews Claudio Naranjo” PART TWO: “The Successful Building Blocks of World Spirituality” PART THREE: “An Invitation for World Spirituality” PART FOUR: “The Diet of World Spirituality” PART FIVE: “Key Principles of World Spirituality” PART SIX: “Appollonian, Dionysian, & Self Knowledge” PART SEVEN: “Practices of World Spirituality” PART EIGHT: “Body Practices of World Spirituality” PART NINE: “Cultivating Practices of World Spirituality” PART TEN: “Effective Integration for World Spirituality” PART ELEVEN: “Four Buckets of Practice for World Spirituality” PART TWELVE: “World Spirituality & Education”

Video: Claudio Naranjo on World Spirituality – Interview by Marc Gafni

Wilber ARevolutionarySpirituality. The Wisdom of a Silent Mind. When your sense perception contacts sense objects and you experience physical pleasure, enjoy that feeling as much as you can.

The Wisdom of a Silent Mind

But if the experience of your sense perception’s contact with the sense world ties you, if the more you look at the sense world the more difficult it becomes, instead of getting anxious—“I can’t control this”—it’s better to close your senses off and with a silent mind observe the sense perception itself. Similarly, if you’re bound by the problems that ideas create, instead of trying to stop those problems by grasping at some other idea, which is impossible, diligently investigate how ideas cause you trouble.

At certain times, a silent mind is very important, but “silent” does not mean closed. The silent mind is an alert, awakened mind; a mind seeking the nature of reality. When problems in the sense world bother you, the difficulty comes from your sense perception, not from the external objects you perceive. Spirituality. 7 LEVELS OF CONSCIOUSNESS: Know the potential of your mind. November 17, 2014 BEYOND THE ORDINARY EXPERIENCE: Spiritual development is no different than, say, sports.

7 LEVELS OF CONSCIOUSNESS: Know the potential of your mind

Higher levels of consciousness can be achieved with the help of regular practice and training of the mind-body system.