background preloader

Children's Book Awards

Facebook Twitter

Chen Bochui International Children Literature Award. We Need Diverse Books. October 13, 2014 We Need Diverse Books™ Announces Walter Dean Myers Award and Grant We Need Diverse Books™ (WNDB™), a grassroots organization created to address the lack of diverse, non-majority narratives in children’s literature, is pleased to announce that the Walter Dean Myers estate has granted WNDB™ the rights to establish an award and grants in his name.

We Need Diverse Books

Walter Dean Myers was a celebrated children’s book author, lifelong advocate for diversity in juvenile literature, and National Book Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. ALMA - ALMA. English 4-11 Picture Book Awards. Radical fiction award given by the Alliance of Radical Booksellers. The Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle 2014. Latest update 'Winners have been announced' The Fault In Our Stars has repeated its box office success to top the poll at the Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle.

The Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle 2014

Other winners inaugural prize-winners were Peck Peck Peck by Lucy Cousins, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis, Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney, Operation Ouch! : Your Brilliant Body by twins Doctor Chris and Xand van Tulleke and Little Red Riding Hood illustrated by Ed Bryan. Blue Peter Book Awards 2015. Latest update 'The winners have been announced!

Blue Peter Book Awards 2015

' The Silly Book of Side-Splitting Stuff and The Spy Who Loved School Dinners win the Blue Peter Book Awards in 2015. The enormously popular Blue Peter Book Awards, which celebrate the best authors, most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children, are managed by Book Trust. More than 200 children from ten schools across the UK voted to decide the winners in each category. The Spy Who Loved School Dinners, written by Pamela Butchart and illustrated by Thomas Flintham, has won the Best Story Award. The Silly Book of Side-Splitting Stuff, written by Andy Seed and illustrated by Scott Garrett, has won the Best Book with Facts Award.

Costa Book Awards - Costa Coffee. The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Costa Book Awards - Costa Coffee

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres. Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way. This year's five Award Winners have been announced! Click here to view them. Leeds Book Awards - Home. Welcome to the Leeds Book Awards website.

Leeds Book Awards - Home

Leeds Book Awards 2015 Our new shortlists for 2015 have just been announced! We have a great selection of books for you to read. They are: Book Award. We are delighted to open submissions for the IBW Book Award 2015, and look forward to receiving submitted titles from publishers. Book Award

Click IBW Book Award Submission Form 2015 to download an IBW Book Award Submission Form. You can email for more information. Enter the Guardian children's fiction prize 2015. The Guardian children’s fiction prize was founded in 1967.

Enter the Guardian children's fiction prize 2015

It is awarded annually to fiction written for children aged eight and above, and is the only children’s fiction award selected by fellow writers. Previous winners of the prize include Mark Haddon for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff, The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson, Frank Cottrell Boyce with The Unforgotten Coat and last year’s winner Piers Torday with The Dark Wild.

The judging panel (made up this year of authors including previous winners Piers Torday and Jenny Valentine and one other author to be announced) will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, Guardian children’s books editor. BBA Home. The Branford Boase Award is awarded annually for an outstanding first novel to a first-time writer of a book for young people.

BBA Home

At the same time, it marks the important contribution of the editor in identifying and nurturing new talent. Henrietta Branford was a gifted novelist for young people. Association for Library Service to Children. Click here for Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books, 1938-Present The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.

Association for Library Service to Children

It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 2021 Medal Winner We Are Water Protectors, illustrated by Michaela Goade, written by Carole Lindstrom, and published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings.

Book Award 2015 sponsored by MLS - UKLA : The UK Literacy Association. UKLA Book Award 2015 team and judges For the first time in the awards’ history, three authors have a chance to win a coveted UKLA award, known as the teacher’s Carnegie, for an unprecedented second time.

Book Award 2015 sponsored by MLS - UKLA : The UK Literacy Association

Philip Reeve with his collaboration with Sarah McIntyre, for Oliver and the Seawigs and Gill Lewis, with Scarlet Ibis, are battling it out on the shortlist for the 7-11 award and Elizabeth Wein is shortlisted in the 12 – 16 category for Rose Under Fire, the sequel to Code Name Verity, which won the category just just two years ago. There will also be a tough battle in the 3-6 category with a recent Red House Book Award winner, The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers up against a past Greenaway medal- winning author Mini Grey with Hermelin the Detective Mouse. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal.

Red House Children's Book Award - Home. Children's Book of the Year - National Book Awards 2014 National Book Awards 2014. Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2014. After six successful years, Booktrust and the Roald Dahl Literary Estate have paused the Roald Dahl Funny Prize until 2016 when it will re-launch as part of the Roald Dahl Centenary celebrations. The overwhelming success of the Prize warrants a review of future options in light of the increasing popularity of the awards. The Roald Dahl Funny Prize was launched in 2008 in association with Michael Rosen, Children's Laureate 2007-9, with the aim of drawing attention to funny children's books. Blog.