background preloader

Awards and Best of Lists

Facebook Twitter

Many of us are familiar with Caldecott and Newberry Awards, however there are many other awards out there for books. Learn about some other book awards that are given each year as well as the books that receive these awards.

Jump to navigation "Best of" Lists "Best of" lists Get age-appropriate ideas and inspiration for every interest: Best websites: Our recommendations for families Looking for great websites for kids?

Animation Apps, Games, and Websites Aaand, ACTION! YouTube Alternatives. Children's Book Awards. The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. 2015 Author Award Winner The 2015 Coretta Scott King Book Awards Author Winner is given to Jacqueline Woodson, author of “brown girl dreaming.” Published by Nancy Paulson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group, Penguin Group (USA) LLC, is an absorbing free verse memoir of a young girl growing up black and female in the 1960s and ‘70s full of arresting details and vivid imagery.

From the time she was a child scribbling her name, Woodson told stories both true and not so true. The following list was compiled from an online survey in 2007.

Parents and teachers will find it useful in selecting quality literature for children. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown I Love You Forever by Robert N. Munsch Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo Oh! Scholastic. 7 October 2013 We celebrate Children's Book Week with Amazon Kindle by announcing our list of 100 books every child should read before they're 14.

We’re living in a golden age of young-adult literature, when books ostensibly written for teens are equally adored by readers of every generation.

Great stories never grow old!

Skip to main content ALA User Menu Search form Unit Eyebrow Links You are at: » ALSC » Awards, Grants & Scholarships » Children's Notable Lists Share this page: Share on Facebook Share on Google+ Share on Pinterest.

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. 2015 Medal Winner Donald Crews is the winner of the 2015 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

His numerous works include “Ten Black Dots,” Greenwillow Books, a division of William Morrow & Company, Inc., 1968 and “Freight Train,” Greenwillow Books, 1978. “With his ground-breaking concept books, Donald Crews respects children and their insights. He trusts young children to understand what his works offers,” Wilder Award Committee Chair Karen Nelson Hoyle said. Crews was born in Newark N.J. to a dressmaker and railroad trackman. The Robert F.

Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award. The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. 2013 Medal Winner Up, Tall and High! The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library.

The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States. Mikis and the Donkey is the 2015 Batchelder Award winner. The book was written by Bibi Dumon Tak, illustrated by Philip Hopman, translated by Laura Watkinson and published Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Wm.

B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Mikis’ simple, quiet life on the Greek island of Corfu is upended when his grandfather surprises him by buying a donkey. “This charming book has remarkable depth. Hidden: A Child's Story of the Holocaust, written by Loic Dauvillier, illustrated by Marc Lizano, color by Greg Salsedo, translated by Alexis Siegel, and published by First Second In this evocative graphic novel, a grandmother recounts her childhood experiences hiding from the Nazis in World War II France. Sweet’s inspired mixed media illustrations illuminate the personality and work of a man passionately interested in many things. Her collages combine disparate elements to create a cohesive whole, echoing the ways in which Roget ordered the world into lists that evolved into his groundbreaking thesaurus. Intricately detailed illustrations in shades of indigo are masterfully layered with the text in this graphic novel.

The pacing and strong imagery evoke myriad emotions and ground this poignant and painfully realistic coming-of-age story. Members of the 2015 Caldecott Medal Selection Committee are: Chair Junko Yokota, Center for Teaching through Children’s Books, Skokie, Ill.; Lucia Acosta, Princeton (N.J.) Click here for Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.

It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. 2015 Medal Winner The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Twelve-year-old narrator Josh Bell uses the rhythms of a poetry jam to emulate the "moving & grooving/popping and rocking" of life on the basketball court with his twin brother, J.B. National Book Critics Circle: Home Page. NBCC member Clea Simon reviews Sea Lovers, Valerie Martin’s new collection of short stories for the Boston Globe.

NBCC member Carol Iaciofano reviews Martin’s collection for WBUR's arts and culture site, The ARTery. NBCC Board member and 2013 Balakian winner Katherine A. Powers reviews Amy Stewart's Girl Waits with Gun in the New York Times. NBCC member Lori Feathers reviews Bonita Avenue by Dutch author Peter Buwalda World Literature Today. NBCC member Karl Wolff reviews Zippy Stories by Bill Griffith for his ongoing essay series for the Chicago Center for Literature and Photography: With “#Ferrantefever, Lisbeth Salander, Franzen” NBCC Board member and VP/Online Jane Ciabattari contributes her "Five books making news this week" to Lit Hub.

The Man Booker Prize 2015. Amazon. 2014 National Book Awards. Whiting Awards Home Page. Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)