background preloader


Facebook Twitter

Welcome to the Newbery Medal Home Page! Click here for Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.

Welcome to the Newbery Medal Home Page!

It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. 2015 Medal Winner The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Twelve-year-old narrator Josh Bell uses the rhythms of a poetry jam to emulate the "moving & grooving/popping and rocking" of life on the basketball court with his twin brother, J.B. “Our 15-member committee worked diligently and thoughtfully to determine the 2015 Newbery Medal winner,” said Committee Chair Randall Enos. 2015 Honor Books El Deafo, written by Cece Bell, illustrated by Cece Bell and published by Amulet Books, an imprint of ABRAMS To ALSC Literary & Related Awards Main Page.

The 33%: 2014 Books from Newbery Winners. The CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards. The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. The Michael L.

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature. The awards announcement is made at the ALA Midwinter Meeting as part of the Youth Media Awards and is celebrated with a program and reception each year at the ALA Annual Conference. The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas, and a marketing consultant for Econo-Clad, as well an active member of YALSA. He had a passion for books and reading. Librarians who wish to buy seals can find them in the ALA Online Store.

Award Policies and Procedures Suggest a Title Committee Information Who Was Michael L. Seals. American Children Young Adult Book Award List A-Z. Publishers note regarding American Awards. We cover over 70 US Adult and Children's Literary Prizes plus monitor over 40 US State Awards. Links to the books listed on these pages will take you to the Powells Books USA Data base, to Amazon or to Fishpond Australia! We are currently changing over all links from Amazon globally to support local book retailers. Sorry that it is a bit of dogs breakfast but given the size of the task it will take sometime to sort out!

. For American Adult literary Prize Index. 2013 Nerdy Book Awards. What began as a list of 93 nominated books in 8 categories has now been voted on to give us these chosen titles for the following categories.

2013 Nerdy Book Awards

Please note that the category titles contain links to the announcement posts. (Categories that have not had winners announced yet will still have nominees listed.) Picture Book Fiction Battle Bunny by Jon Scieszka and Mac Barnett, illustrated by Matthew Myers Bluebird by Bob Staake Exclamation Mark by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, illustrated by Tom Lichtenhel. Book Award 2015 sponsored by MLS - UKLA : The UK Literacy Association. UKLA Book Award 2015 team and judges For the first time in the awards’ history, three authors have a chance to win a coveted UKLA award, known as the teacher’s Carnegie, for an unprecedented second time.

Book Award 2015 sponsored by MLS - UKLA : The UK Literacy Association

Philip Reeve with his collaboration with Sarah McIntyre, for Oliver and the Seawigs and Gill Lewis, with Scarlet Ibis, are battling it out on the shortlist for the 7-11 award and Elizabeth Wein is shortlisted in the 12 – 16 category for Rose Under Fire, the sequel to Code Name Verity, which won the category just just two years ago. There will also be a tough battle in the 3-6 category with a recent Red House Book Award winner, The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers up against a past Greenaway medal- winning author Mini Grey with Hermelin the Detective Mouse. This year 66 teachers from schools in Nottingham, Leicester, Derbyshire, Coventry and Birmingham are judges for the unique UKLA Book Awards. Leeds Book Awards - Home. Welcome to the Leeds Book Awards website.

Leeds Book Awards - Home

Leeds Book Awards 2015 Our new shortlists for 2015 have just been announced! We have a great selection of books for you to read. They are: Book Award. We are delighted to open submissions for the IBW Book Award 2015, and look forward to receiving submitted titles from publishers. Book Award

Click IBW Book Award Submission Form 2015 to download an IBW Book Award Submission Form. You can email for more information. Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) 2015, previously Independent Booksellers Week, will this year run from Saturday 20 to Saturday 27 June 2015. We are now calling for entries for the IBW Book Award 2015, which plays a central role in the Week’s trade and consumer promotional activities. Enter the Guardian children's fiction prize 2015. The Guardian children’s fiction prize was founded in 1967.

Enter the Guardian children's fiction prize 2015

It is awarded annually to fiction written for children aged eight and above, and is the only children’s fiction award selected by fellow writers. Association for Library Service to Children. Sweet’s inspired mixed media illustrations illuminate the personality and work of a man passionately interested in many things.

Association for Library Service to Children

Her collages combine disparate elements to create a cohesive whole, echoing the ways in which Roget ordered the world into lists that evolved into his groundbreaking thesaurus. Intricately detailed illustrations in shades of indigo are masterfully layered with the text in this graphic novel. The pacing and strong imagery evoke myriad emotions and ground this poignant and painfully realistic coming-of-age story. Members of the 2015 Caldecott Medal Selection Committee are: Chair Junko Yokota, Center for Teaching through Children’s Books, Skokie, Ill.; Lucia Acosta, Princeton (N.J.) Blue Peter Book Awards 2015. The Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle 2014. Latest update 'Winners have been announced' The Fault In Our Stars has repeated its box office success to top the poll at the Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle.

The Book Trust Best Book Awards with Amazon Kindle 2014

Other winners inaugural prize-winners were Peck Peck Peck by Lucy Cousins, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis, Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney, Operation Ouch! : Your Brilliant Body by twins Doctor Chris and Xand van Tulleke and Little Red Riding Hood illustrated by Ed Bryan. The awards were accepted at a ceremony in central London attended by authors and 300 child judges, and presented by TV presenter Mel Giedroyc. 12,000 schoolchildren nationwide voted for the winning titles to produce a host of superb winners crossing six categories. Radical fiction award given by the Alliance of Radical Booksellers. ALMA - ALMA. We Need Diverse Books. October 13, 2014 We Need Diverse Books™ Announces Walter Dean Myers Award and Grant We Need Diverse Books™ (WNDB™), a grassroots organization created to address the lack of diverse, non-majority narratives in children’s literature, is pleased to announce that the Walter Dean Myers estate has granted WNDB™ the rights to establish an award and grants in his name.

We Need Diverse Books

Walter Dean Myers was a celebrated children’s book author, lifelong advocate for diversity in juvenile literature, and National Book Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. His untimely loss earlier this year stunned the publishing community, but his legacy can still be seen in the thousands of lives he touched, including those of readers and authors alike.