background preloader

Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman
On my website you can find information about my books, view my illustrations, check out what people asked in my Q&A section. The shop contains all my books available for you to buy. I hope you enjoy the website. Philip Right: Some illustrations from His Dark Materials

http://www.philip-pullman.com/

Related:  Authors N-Z

Booked Out Speakers Agency Anne Spudvilas is a multi award-winning illustrator of children’s books. Her work on the picture book version of Mao’s Last Dancer, The Peasant Prince, took her to China with author Li Cunxin. The Peasant Prince won both the NSW and Qld Premiers Awards and CBCA Honor book in 2008. Kevin Brooks - Author 11th April 2014 Want to become a Chicken? Chicken House is recruiting a Junior Editor (Children's Fiction)! Location: Frome A Christmas Carol - by Charles Dickens - Awesome Stories To help provide for his growing family, Charles Dickens wrote A Christmas Carol over a period of three weeks in 1843. Creating the characters of Ebenezer Scrooge, Jacob Marley, Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim, Dickens also made famous the descriptive word "Humbug!" His tale of transformation is still popular during the holiday season and has often been produced for film. This version, from 1984, features George C. Scott as Ebenezer and Frank Finlay as Jacob Marley.

The Golden Compass Movie Review (2007 "The Golden Compass" is a darker, deeper fantasy epic than the "Rings" trilogy, "The Chronicles of Narnia" or the "Potter" films. It springs from the same British world of quasi-philosophical magic, but creates more complex villains and poses more intriguing questions. As a visual experience, it is superb. As an escapist fantasy, it is challenging. Transworld - Terry Pratchett Larry Finlay, MD at Transworld Publishers: “I was deeply saddened to learn that Sir Terry Pratchett has died. The world has lost one of its brightest, sharpest minds. In over 70 books, Terry enriched the planet like few before him. As all who read him know, Discworld was his vehicle to satirize this world: he did so brilliantly, with great skill, enormous humour and constant invention.

Book-A-Minute SF/F Don't have time to read it all? Let's face it. There's a lot of science fiction and fantasy out there and very little time to read it in. Well sit back and relax, because your troubles are solved! Lord of the Flies Before The Hunger Games, there was William Golding's 1954 Lord of the Flies. Well, okay, before there was The Hunger Games, there was reality TV and the 1996 Japanese novel (and later move) Battle Royale. But you have to admit, the premise is similar: a bunch of kids end up on an island/ arena and turn into vicious savages in about, oh, five minutes.

The Golden Compass Brings Nietzsche to Narnia: The Philosophical Underpinnings of His Dark Materials Skip to comments. The Golden Compass Brings Nietzsche to Narnia: The Philosophical Underpinnings of His Dark Materials Catholic Exchange ^ | December 4, 2007 | Marc T. Newman, Ph.D. Posted on Tue Dec 4 17:49:42 2007 by NYer When parents look at the beautiful covers adorning the gift-boxed sets of Philip Pullman's fantasy series, His Dark Materials, they might be forgiven for believing that these books follow in the tradition of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings or C.S.

Related:  Literature