background preloader

Iib_rhetological_fallacies_EN.png (1276×6157)

Related:  jessroe

ScienceOnline Richard Yates (novelist) Richard Yates (February 3, 1926 – November 7, 1992) was an American novelist and short story writer, known for his exploration of mid-20th century life. Life [ edit ] Born in Yonkers, New York , Yates came from an unstable home. His parents divorced when he was three and much of his childhood was spent in many different towns and residences. After leaving Avon, Yates joined the Army, serving in France and Germany during World War II. In 1962, he wrote the screenplay for a film adaptation of William Styron 's Lie Down in Darkness . His daughter Monica once dated Seinfeld co-creator Larry David ; David's first meeting with the writer was the basis for " The Jacket " episode of Seinfeld's second season. [ 9 ] Novels [ edit ] Yates's fiction was autobiographical in nature, as his fiction included much of his own life. Short fiction [ edit ] Yates was also an acclaimed author of short stories. Popular culture [ edit ] Richard Yates was godfather to the veteran character actor John Lacy . Films Other

Existentialism in Literature and Film Course by Hubert L. Dreyfus on Free Audio Download Ever feel like life needs a little more meaning? Well then listen to these guys' perspectives and solutions to make sense of this craziness in life. The lecturer is super-accessible, and clear, and sometimes even funny. I'm 22, studied biology, never taken a philosophy class and never heard of Kierkegaard, and all his talk is understandable even to me. This class builds a framework for which we can understand our own existence and what we can do with the time we got here, from the perspectives of three philosophers. NEW VERSION: a more recent version of the podcast, from the 2008 class, is available for free on itunes U, through the itunes store.

John Cheever John William Cheever (May 27, 1912 – June 18, 1982) was an American novelist and short story writer. He is sometimes called "the Chekhov of the suburbs." His fiction is mostly set in the Upper East Side of Manhattan, the Westchester suburbs, old New England villages based on various South Shore towns around Quincy, Massachusetts, where he was born, and Italy, especially Rome. He is "now recognized as one of the most important short fiction writers of the 20th century."[1] While Cheever is perhaps best remembered for his short stories (including "The Enormous Radio," "Goodbye, My Brother," "The Five-Forty-Eight," "The Country Husband," and "The Swimmer"), he also wrote four novels, comprising The Wapshot Chronicle (National Book Award, 1958),[2] The Wapshot Scandal (William Dean Howells Medal, 1965), Bullet Park (1969), Falconer (1977) and a novella Oh What a Paradise It Seems (1982). Early life and education[edit] Career[edit] Early writings[edit] Mid-career[edit] Illness and death[edit]

UH Psychology 1300 PORTABLE ELECTRONIC TEXT PROGRAM (For use on PUBLIC COMPUTER) Download: "Click Here" Open the Zip Folder that just download Move the "Psychology Textbook" folder and "Open Book" icon to your USB When ever you want to use electronic text on public computer, just insert the USB to the public computer, and click on the Open Book iconUSING THE SYSTEM Check the syllabus in Psymple Psych. I strongly urge you to get started reading the text as soon as possible. First, take time to read the instructions on how to use the user-friendly Psychology: Exploring Behavior system. Take the guided electronic tour available as the first option on the “Services” pull-down menu in the text—the blue button on the upper left of the text screen. There are Computer Tutors available according to a schedule to be distributed in class and posted in Room 125 (The Psych Undergraduate Computer Lab) in Heyne Hall, usually 11a.m.-2 p.m. daily (Fall Semester) or 12-2 (Spring Semester). Meanwhile, above all, ENJOY!

Jane Smiley Jane Smiley (born September 26, 1949) is an American novelist. Biography[edit] Born in Los Angeles, California, Smiley grew up in Webster Groves, Missouri, a suburb of St. Louis, and graduated from Community School and from John Burroughs School. She obtained an A.B. in literature at Vassar College (1971), then earned an MA at the University of Iowa (1975), M.F.A. (1976) and Ph.D. from the University of Iowa. [1] While working towards her doctorate, she also spent a year studying in Iceland as a Fulbright Scholar. Career[edit] Thirteen Ways of Looking at the Novel (2005), is a non-fiction meditation on the history and the nature of the novel, somewhat in the tradition of E. In 2001, Smiley was elected a member of The American Academy of Arts and Letters. Works[edit] Novels[edit] Short story collections[edit] The Age of Grief (1987) Non-fiction books[edit] Young Adult novels[edit] "The Georges and the Jewels" (2009)"A Good Horse" (2010)"True Blue" (2011)"Pie in the Sky" (2012)"Gee Whiz" (2013)

A Brief History of Psychology If you're taking an introductory psychology course this semester, you're likely in for a crash course in what psychologist Hermann Ebbinghaus called psychology's long past and short history. While the underpinnings of the discipline date back thousands of years, psychology did not emerge as a separate field until the founding of Wilhelm Wundt's lab at the University of Leipzig in 1879. Since that time, psychology has undergone dramatic changes and transitions, with numerous theoretical views arising and vying for dominance. In order to understand the wide range of topics studied by modern psychologists, it is important to understand a bit about past thinking and research. Related Reading Image by SuperManu/Wikimedia Commons

Mark Rothko Mark Rothko (Latvian: Markus Rotkovičs, Russian: Марк Ро́тко; born Ма́ркус Я́ковлевич Ротко́вич; Marcus Yakovlevich Rothkowitz; September 25, 1903 – February 25, 1970) was an American painter of Russian Jewish descent. He is generally identified as an Abstract Expressionist, although he himself rejected this label and even resisted classification as an "abstract painter." With Jackson Pollock and Willem de Kooning, he is one of the most famous postwar American artists. Childhood[edit] Mark Rothko was born in Dvinsk, Vitebsk Governorate, in the Russian Empire (today Daugavpils in Latvia). His father, Jacob (Yakov) Rothkowitz, was a pharmacist and an intellectual who initially provided his children with a secular and political, rather than religious, upbringing. Despite Jacob Rothkowitz's modest income, the family was highly educated ("We were a reading family," Rothko's sister recalled[2]), and Rothko was able to speak Russian, Yiddish, and Hebrew. Emigration from Russia to the U.S.

Related: