background preloader


Facebook Twitter

Chancellor Robert Hope Biography - Current Students. Justice Robert Hope was the University of Wollongong’s founding Chancellor.

Chancellor Robert Hope Biography - Current Students

Justice Hope commenced as Chancellor at the University of Wollongong in 1975 and served the University for 22 years. He is credited with playing a crucial role in the University of Wollongong’s transition from a small regional University to an internationally-recognised and highly-respected tertiary institution. UOW History - UOW History, Facts & Figures - Library Guides at University of Wollongong Library. ‘University Day’ between 1975-1988 In 1975 ‘University Year’ celebrated the official establishment of ‘UOW’ by holding various events throughout that year.

UOW History - UOW History, Facts & Figures - Library Guides at University of Wollongong Library

University Council subsequently received a report from the University Year Committee recommending the continued promotion of the University’s bond with the community through activities such as a public lecture series and a ‘University Day'. It was proposed that an occasional address should be given by a notable speaker, on a topic usually of current concern to tertiary education. In 1976 it was proclaimed that University Day would be held on the second Friday in August each year (in anniversary of the first meeting of the Chancellor's Council), and on that day the annual lecture would be presented. The first University Day was held on 13 August that year. Former Senior Officers - History @ UOW. The awards and qualifications listed below relate to the applicable term in office.

Former Senior Officers - History @ UOW

Former Chancellors Robert Marsden Hope (dec'd) AC CMG LLB Syd, Hon LLD W'gong, Hon LLD Syd, QC 1975-1997 Michael Henry Codd AC BEc (Hons) Adel, Hon DLitt W'gong 1997-2009 Former Deputy Chancellors David Edwin Parry (dec'd) BE Syd, Hon DSc W'gong, MIE Aust, MAus IMM 1975-1978 Hon Lawrence Borthwick Kelly AM 1980-1988 Brian Somerville Gillett BA DipEd Syd, Hon DLitt W'gong, ACES 1988-1997 George Anthony Edgar BSc (Tech. University of New South Wales - Records and Archives Office - The Vice-Chancellors of the University of New South Wales Exhibition. This photographic display brings to you the Directors / Vice-Chancellors of the University of New South Wales since its inception in 1949.

University of New South Wales - Records and Archives Office - The Vice-Chancellors of the University of New South Wales Exhibition

When the university was first incorporated in 1949 the executive had the titles of president, vice president and director. The titles were changed to chancellor, deputy chancellor and vice-chancellor respectively when the enabling statute was amended in 1955. For further information, please contact the Archives. Sir John Monash - Monash University. Sir John Monash “…equip yourself for life, not solely for your own benefit but for the benefit of the whole community.” – Sir John Monash The University takes its name from Sir John Monash, a famous Australian who contributed to almost every level of Australian life.

Sir John Monash - Monash University

Not only do we carry Sir John's name, we also take inspiration from his philosophy, as captured by the quotation at the top of this page. He was a man who used education to turn his natural talent into ability, allowing him to realise his daring ambitions. History of the Presidency. Term of office: 2007 Drew Gilpin Faust is the 28th President of Harvard University and the Lincoln Professor of History in Harvard's Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

History of the Presidency

She has expanded financial aid to improve access to Harvard College for students of all economic backgrounds and advocated for increased federal funding for scientific research. Read more… Lawrence H. Summers. The Presidents of Princeton University. 160 Years 160 Stories. Brief biographies of 160 remarkable people associated with the University of Melbourne Juliet Flesch and Peter McPhee To purchase the paperback or eBook edition, please visit: → Melbourne University Publishing.

160 Years 160 Stories

Oxford DNB: Lives of the week. Sir George Fisher CMG, National Portrait Gallery. Sir George Fisher CMG (b. 1903), mining industry executive, began work at the Zinc Corporation at Broken Hill in 1925 after having completed a mining engineering degree in Adelaide.

Sir George Fisher CMG, National Portrait Gallery

Apart from a period in Darwin during the war, he spent many years on the Zinc Corporation production line before rising to the surface as the company's General Manager and Director in 1945. By 1952 he was a leading figure in Australian mining and moved to Mount Isa to head Mount Isa Mines Ltd. During his period as Chairman of MIM up to 1975, output increased from 1500 to 18000 tonnes per day, and he was delighted to see Mount Isa turn from a town into an orderly inland city (a colleague said of Fisher in 1959 that 'he thinks and dreams Mt Isa'). Australia's PMs - Australia's Prime Ministers. Site map | Glossary | Contact us About this site | Australia's PMs | Fast facts | Timeline | Galleries | Find records > The Australian prime minister> The prime ministerial spouse Home > Australia's PMs Australia's PMs Use the images below to explore the life and times of individual Australian prime ministers, or see The Australian prime minister or The prime ministerial spouse to learn about these roles.

Australia's PMs - Australia's Prime Ministers

KNIGHT, Jill (b.1923). 31 March 1966 - 1 May 1997 Biography Joan Christabel Jill Knight was born in Bristol on 9 July 1923.

KNIGHT, Jill (b.1923).

Educated at King Edward Grammar School, she decided she wanted to pursue a career in politics at thirteen, her anti-socialist views influenced by her school life. She joined the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF) in 1941 and after the war lived for a time in Hamburg. On her return to the UK she joined the Young Conservatives. 100 Leaders. The Royal Family. No List of former Office holders but good history overview - La Trobe.

La Trobe has been one of Australia's pioneering universities for almost 50 years. Discover our unique history, including our motto and coat of arms. Celebrating 50 years of history In 1967, 552 students enrolled at La Trobe University, the third university to open in Victoria, which has grown to accommodate more than 36,000 students, with over 7,000 international students from 110 countries.