background preloader

Reading Resources

Facebook Twitter

11 Inspiring Books To Read When You're Feeling Lonely And Need Some Cheering Up - Bookish Buzz. Sudden bursts of loneliness can wash over you like a tidal wave you never saw coming, and other times, loneliness can seep in slowly.

11 Inspiring Books To Read When You're Feeling Lonely And Need Some Cheering Up - Bookish Buzz

Feeling lonely is definitely not something to be ashamed of, and as an avid reader and introverted human, I've come to learn that books are great medicine to curing loneliness. Books for Beginning Bibliotherapy. A while back I wrote a post here about my real-life encounter with a bibliotherapist.

Books for Beginning Bibliotherapy

(Someone who uses books as part of a therapeutic approach to mental health and general well-being.) It was an experience I would recommend to anyone who loves literature and who has a lot of feels. Or, conversely, anyone who loves literature and does not enjoy talking about their feels and so enjoys deflecting emotions onto fictional characters. The Need to Read. A Literary Advent Calendar. False, Misleading, Clickbait-y, and Satirical “News” Sources. The Reading Rules We Would Never Follow as Adult Readers. Choice.

The Reading Rules We Would Never Follow as Adult Readers

The number one thing all the students I have polled through the years want the most when it comes to reading. No matter how I phrase the question, this answer in all of its versions is always at the top. Sometimes pleading, sometimes demanding, sometimes just stated as a matter of fact; please let us choose the books we want to read. Yet, how often is this a reality for the students we teach? How often, in our eagerness to be great teachers, do we remove or disallow the very things students yearn for to have meaningful literacy experiences? Removing choice. Recommendations to Improve Your Reading Life. Being a reader is a life-long project, and we all want to do it well.

Recommendations to Improve Your Reading Life

Sometimes, it’s easy to get caught up in the parts of a reader’s life that feel insurmountable — the TBR list you’ll never complete; the library hold list you’ll never catch up on; all the amazing books you’ll never hear about, let alone find and own! But there are little ways we can enrich our reading lives every day: small changes we can make or ideas we can try to change up our reading patterns and find new books to love. Here are forty places to start. Add your own in the comments below, or try a couple first and then come tell me how they go. 'She makes the ordinary feel as important as the epic': the gift of Ursula Le Guin. 5 Tips For Being Great at Recommending Books. This post is sponsored by Reco.

5 Tips For Being Great at Recommending Books

The best book recommendations come from people you trust. Reco is your reading companion to discover personal book recommendations, manage that ever-growing reading list and share your favourite reads with friends and family. Built on the idea that person to person recos are far more powerful than any algorithmic suggestion, Reco connects you with people like you. Find books that are truly relevant. Follow trending themes and titles to stay in tune with what people are actually reading. The first lines of Puffin classics – in pictures. How to Play ‘The Book Game’ Our team had a bundle of fun playing this hilarious game.

How to Play ‘The Book Game’

The best part about it; it incorporates materials you (likely) already own. Here’s what you need: -At least one book per person -Paper, enough for everyone to write on -One pen per person Alright, got all the material? Each player has a book, a piece of paper, and a pen. Our selection of books for the game- anything goes! High Interest Low Readability Books for Struggling Readers.

If you teach an older struggling reader, you know what a challenge motivation can be.

High Interest Low Readability Books for Struggling Readers

Many of them have said, “I can’t,” for so long when it comes to reading, that the label reluctant reader doesn’t even begin to tell the half of it. By the time a child is in upper elementary school {4th/5th grades}, resistant reader can be more like it. Research tells us that struggling readers are often given texts to read that are on their frustration level, only feeding the “I can’t” mantra. When we try to give them texts they can read, sometimes we hand them books that seem “baby-ish” and turn them off. The page 69 quiz – can you identify the classic book from a single paragraph? Reading for pleasure - a door to success.

The benefits of reading for pleasure are far reaching.

Reading for pleasure - a door to success

Aside from the sheer joy of exercising the imagination, evidence indicates reading for pleasure improves literacy, social skills, health and learning outcomes. It also gives people access to culture and heritage and empowers them to become active citizens, who can contribute to economic and social development. Contents Reading for pleasure — a definitionThe importance of reading for pleasureEngaging children with readingReferences Reading for pleasure — a definition Reading for pleasure is also referred to as independent reading, voluntary reading, leisure reading, or recreational reading. Litsy: If Instagram and Goodreads Had a Perfect Baby. Have you been hearing the buzz about Litsy?

Litsy: If Instagram and Goodreads Had a Perfect Baby

It’s a social media app for readers (iOS only for the moment, I’m afraid, please don’t yell at me, I didn’t develop the app) that is kind of like if Instagram and Goodreads had a beautiful, perfect baby. You can read a little about it on their website. I’m kind of obsessed. What I like about Litsy, perhaps paradoxically, are its strict limitations. 100 best opening lines from children's books. Miss Peregrine author returns with illustrated collection of fairytales.

Ransom Riggs is to open the door to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children a little wider with a new book of fairytales set in the fantastical world.

Miss Peregrine author returns with illustrated collection of fairytales

Riggs’s bestselling novel – which is being adapted for film by Tim Burton, with a script by Jane Goldman and starring Samuel L Jackson and Eva Green – has sold over 5m copies around the world. Set on an island off the coast of Wales, and illustrated using vintage photographs found by Riggs, it sees 16-year-old Jacob discover the ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children on the island, as well as more details about the children, who may still be alive. Women's History Month.

'A love and feel for place': Australian illustrated children's books – in pictures. 3 Steps to Reading Harder, Faster, Better, Stronger. According to a much-discussed survey, the average American adult reads about four books a year. The Stella Sparks campaign is celebrating women's writing. The Stella Prize is calling on book-lovers to share their favourite books by Australian women in a new campaign, Stella Sparks. What was the book by an Australian woman that inspired you, provoked you or moved you?

How about the one that made you think or made you laugh, or the one that made you passionate about writing? That’s your Stella Spark — and they’d love you to post a picture of it or even just a few words about it on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, using the hashtag #StellaSpark. Life Lessons From Winnie-the-Pooh - Book Recommendations and Reviews. Your childhood is calling, it has some wisdom to share! Sometimes, when I go back and read old favorites, I’m surprised at how much good sense is packed into the books I read before I realized how important they were. The plots were always entertaining, but the life lessons lost on someone who had lived so very little life. Now that I am three decades in, quotes from childhood staples are surprisingly valid and poignant.

Together Toward Ourselves: 30 Bookish Wedding Readings. We’re heading into another wedding season, which means a lot of you are in the thick of planning for the big day. Which also means that soon you’re going to have to make the all-important decision about what (if anything) will be read during the ceremony. In addition to my own wedding, I’ve had the honor of reading for several dear friends, so I understand the exciting and daunting challenge that comes with finding just the right words to mark the occasion. Why British children's stories are better. If Harry Potter and Huckleberry Finn were each to represent British versus American children’s literature, a curious dynamic would emerge: In a literary duel for the hearts and minds of children, one is a wizard-in-training at a boarding school in the Scottish Highlands, while the other is a barefoot boy drifting down the Mississippi, beset by con artists, slave hunters, and thieves.

One defeats evil with a wand, the other takes to a raft to right a social wrong. Both orphans took over the world of English-language children’s literature, but their stories unfold in noticeably different ways. The small island of Great Britain is an undisputed powerhouse of children’s bestsellers: The Wind in the Willows, Alice in Wonderland, Winnie-the-Pooh, Peter Pan, The Hobbit, James and the Giant Peach, Harry Potter, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

11 Books That Will Hook You In From The Very First Line. 7 Apps for your Bookish Resolutions. Reviews of 2016 Youth Media Award–Winning and Honor Books. Literary travel: around the world in 10 must-read books. 11 Delightful Tales Set in Our Favorite Place—Bookstores! 27 Seriously Underrated Books Every Book Lover Should Read. 11 Ways to Love Goodreads Even More. For hardcore readers, the satisfaction of analyzing your reading habits is second only to the pleasure of getting lost between the pages. #Quiz: Who Won What? Literary Awards 2015. - For Reading Addicts. The Best Children’s Books of 2015. By Maria Popova. Where Humans Can't Leave and Mustn't Complain (Anti-Bullying Poem Recited by James Cotter) Provenance Online Project. Just for fun, some GIF animations of images from books and manuscripts at the University of Pennsylvania’s Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts.

All of the GIFs are created by Laura Aydelotte (aydel@upenn.edu) and free to share under a Creative Commons Non-Commercial Share-Alike License (see details at bottom of this page). Just credit me with my twitter handle @LauraEAydelotte and mention the image comes from material at the Kislak Center at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. A Curriculum Staple: Reading Aloud to Teens.

The story of how Winnie the Pooh was inspired by a real bear – in pictures. Can Reading Make You Happier? Several years ago, I was given as a gift a remote session with a bibliotherapist at the London headquarters of the School of Life, which offers innovative courses to help people deal with the daily emotional challenges of existence.

Sydney Review of Books. Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín Picador 320pp $29.99AU Published October, 2014 ISBN 9781743532195. Science Has Great News for People Who Read Actual Books. The List App: It's New and It's Perfect for Book Nerds! How to Throw Jane Eyre a Birthday Party. The Legacy of Charlotte's Web. How to Keep a Reading Log or Book Journal. Teen Book Clubs. About Us.

David Bowie Answers the Famous Proust Questionnaire. The Marvels by Brian Selznick. Read the blurb from The Red Queen! - Obernewtyn.net. Judith Kerr: introducing my new book Mister Cleghorn's Seal – in pictures. Protecting “The Books That Will Never Be Written”: Judy Blume’s Fight Against Censorship. 15 Fun and Fascinating Facts about Literature - For Reading Addicts.

17 Photos That Are Way Too Real For Book Nerds. Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens. The Brothers Grimm in Three Transcendent Dimensions: Shaun Tan’s Breathtaking Sculptural Illustrations for the Beloved Tales. George RR Martin: our long obsession with Mars. A 9/11 Reading List. Why Reading Is Quite Possibly the Greatest Thing Ever. Jon Walter’s top 10 refugee heroes in children’s fiction. The Best Books About Books. Reading for fun improves children's brains, study confirms. Harper Lee and Truman Capote's friendship fictionalised in YA novel. Book Recommendations and Reviews. 20 Classic YA Literature Heroines, Ranked. Wild Reader Analyser. Reading Bingo - Google Docs. 7 Reasons Why We're Still Fascinated By Virginia Woolf. Reading Literature Makes Us Smarter and Nicer. Top 10 books about forgetting.