background preloader

U.S. Regions

Facebook Twitter

U.S. Regions

US STATE FACTS - NORTHEAST REGION. US STATE FACTS - SOUTHEAST REGION. U.S. STATE FACTS - MIDWEST REGION. WEST REGION - US STATE FACTS. US STATE FACTS - SOUTHWEST REGION. Fifty States for Kids: Maps, Facts, Games, and Activities « United States. United States Geography: Regions. Geography >> US Geography >> US State History The United States is often divided up into geographical regions.

Using these regions can help to describe a larger area and also helps to group together states that are similar in features such as geography, culture, history, and climate. While there are some official government regions, such as those used by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Standard Federal Regions, most people use five major regions when dividing up the states. They are the Northeast, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest, and West.

Because these aren't officially defined regions, some border states may appear in different regions depending on the document or map you are looking at. Major Regions Northeast States included: Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland Climate: Humid continental climate with cool summers in the northernmost areas. Here are some other sub-regions that are often referred to: