Readalikes

Facebook Twitter

Sisters Red. SISTERS RED is the first in the series of companion books that continues with SWEETLY, FATHOMLESS, and COLD SPELL.

Sisters Red

Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris– the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead. Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts fiercely alongside her. Twenty-five-year-old Jackson Pearce delivers a dark, taut fairy tale with heart-pounding action, fierce sisterly love, and a romance that will leave readers breathless. Read the first 40 pages! Buy the book:Amazon.com | Indiebound.org | Barnes & Noble. The Dark Divine. King Rat. Toads and Diamonds. And now, a Big Idea that will warm the hearts of big sisters everywhere – as well as examine the assumptions built into generations worth of fairy tales.

Toads and Diamonds

For her latest YA novel, Toads and Diamonds, author Heather Tomlinson went back to to fairy tale from her youth and started asking questions about it. The answers she devised for her book took her to India and beyond. Now she’s back to tell the tale. This novel’s Big Idea began as a cry from the heart: Big Sister is not the enemy! First, some context. Just don’t get me started on the stepsisters. Of all the stories that made my youthful blood boil with a sense of injustice, Charles Perrault’s Toads and Diamonds was the worst. So what if the situation weren’t that simple? Maybe toads and snakes. The aha! Not medieval or 17th century France, the foundation for my two previous novels’ fantasy worlds. The setting and characters were coming into focus; all I needed was a plot. Toads and Diamonds: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Indiebound|Powell’s.

The Hero and the Crown. The Hero and the Crownby Robin McKinley Book Talk In The Hero and the Crown, Robin McKinley has written an exciting fantasy adventure novel complete with quests, dragons, a wizard, magic, a terrible villain, and a traditional hero riding the traditional white horse into and home from battle.

The Hero and the Crown

Or maybe not!! McKinley’s hero does carry a sword, is originally an outcast from society, does go on a search for self and eventually does save the day. However, McKinley’s protagonist is a young woman fighting for her place in her father’s court and her war horse is her father’s old, lame horse. Aerin, McKinley’s hero, has always wondered about her mother who died shortly after Aerin’s birth. McKinley’s book prods the limits of one’s imagination, constantly urging the reader to believe and to accompany Aerin on her self-proclaimed quests as she rises to her position of hero, a hero who saves not only her City, but also the legendary, but long-lost, hero’s crown. return to top Author Study return to top. The Stepsister Scheme. Eyes Like Stars. A Matter of Magic.

The Jumbee. Jumbee by Pamela Keyes.

The Jumbee

(Grades 7 and up.) Dial, October 2010. 388 pages. Reviewed from ARC provided by publisher. After the death of her thespian father, Esti Legard moves to a Caribbean island to attend a prestigious theater school. She's finally free from living in her father's shadow, but a mysterious death at the theater leaves her wondering if her father haunts her still. Jumbee is a reimagining of The Phantom of the Opera, set on a lush Caribbean island and there were many things I loved about it. But the trick here is to compare it with Phantom but not to compare it too closely because that's not really fair to the book. I do think the lush Caribbean scenery and the rich folklore traditions included make the book stand out. I'd recommend this to teen theater buffs, maybe fans of Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev (there is a lot of Shakespeare in Jumbee, so I'd particularly consider teens who dig the Bard). Jumbee will be on shelves October 14.

Magic Under Glass.