background preloader

Lit Review IL Instruction

Facebook Twitter

Scaffolding information problem solving in web-based collaborative inquiry learning. Volume 59, Issue 1, August 2012, Pages 82–94 The CAL Conference 2011 Edited By Cathy Lewin, Keri Facer and Chin-Chung Tsai Department of Educational Studies, Ghent University, Henri Dunantlaan 2, 9000 Gent, Belgium Received 9 May 2011, Revised 27 October 2011, Accepted 8 November 2011, Available online 22 November 2011 Choose an option to locate/access this article: Check if you have access through your login credentials or your institution Check access doi:10.1016/j.compedu.2011.11.010 Get rights and content Abstract This study investigated the impact of different modes of scaffolding on students who are learning science through a web-based collaborative inquiry project in authentic classroom settings and explored the interaction effects with students’ characteristics.

Scaffolding information problem solving in web-based collaborative inquiry learning

Highlights Keywords Web-based inquiry; Information problem solving; Scaffolding; Secondary science education; Individual differences Copyright © 2011 Elsevier Ltd. Information literacy proficiency: Assessing the gap in high school students' readiness for undergraduate academic work. A Rutherford Library, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada T6G 2J8b School of Information Studies & Research Institute for Professional Practice, Learning and Education, Charles Sturt University, Boorooma St., Locked Bag 588, Wagga Wagga, NSW 2678, Australiac School of Library and Information Studies, University of Alabama, 513 Gorgas Library, P.O.

Information literacy proficiency: Assessing the gap in high school students' readiness for undergraduate academic work

Box 870252, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0252, USAd Concordia University College of Alberta, 7128 Ada Boulevard, Edmonton, AB, Canada T5B 4E4 Available online 8 February 2013 Choose an option to locate/access this article: Check if you have access through your login credentials or your institution Check access doi:10.1016/j.lisr.2012.12.001 Get rights and content This study examines how high school students' information literacy (IL) skills prepare them for academic work in the digital age. Highlights Copyright © 2013 Elsevier Inc. ReflectionHandoutStudent - ReflectionHandoutStudent.pdf.

00463536b910ab0212000000.pdf. Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh@innovativelibraries.org.uk or on Twitter @andywalsh999. Reviewing literature is surely a key skill for any budding academic, but particularly for students engaged in postgraduate study.

Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh@innovativelibraries.org.uk or on Twitter @andywalsh999

For about four years I have been teaching a research methods course for a number of Masters level humanities students, which gets assessed through a report on a research project of the students’ choice which includes a brief literature review. Over the last two years in particular I have been getting an increasingly large number of annotated bibliographies instead of literature reviews (often referred to as ‘literary reviews’).

The teaching strategies and materials didn’t change over that time period, but clearly students didn’t quite understand the point of using this part of their report to discuss the themes and issues raised in the secondary sources they use. Instead this section often reads like the university equivalent of a finger painting put up on a fridge, saying “Didn’t I do well? I read all three of those books and this was in them!” Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh@innovativelibraries.org.uk or on Twitter @andywalsh999. Exploring information landscapes and bubbles By Andy Burkhardt and Alan Carbery Abstract At Champlain College Library, our information literacy programme is not just about teaching students how to search library databases, or find scholarly articles; it’s about engaging students in critical conversations about their information choices as information consumers.

Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh@innovativelibraries.org.uk or on Twitter @andywalsh999

This chapter will narrate how we engage first year students in these conversations using multiple methods, tools, and learning objects. Through the use of mobile phone polling and a TED Talk about filter bubbles, we facilitate student discovery of a wider information landscape. By engaging students in these meaningful and contextualized conversations, we open our students up to transformative learning moments (Mezirow, 1997) that help then rediscover their information selves. References. Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh or on Twitter @andywalsh999.

The Fishscale of Academicness Alke Gröppel-Wegener, A. and Walton, G. (2013).

Innovative Libraries, Contact me by email andywalsh or on Twitter @andywalsh999

The Fishscale of Academicness. In: Walsh, A. and Coonan, E. eds. (2013). Only Connect … Discovery pathways, library explorations, and the information adventure. Huddersfield: Innovative Libraries, pp. 15-38. Introduction: navigating the ocean and getting your feet wet Imagine every secondary source you encounter is a sea creature! The Fishscale of Academicness, inspired by the work of Dr Claire Penketh, is a visual learning idea employed to engage undergraduate students in questioning the provenance of information sources. This chapter is based on a booklet explaining the Fishscale concept, and looks at the Fishscale from two perspectives – the view a student would have and a meta-level putting it into a larger theoretical context as a teaching activity.